Birthdays and LA

T-minus 30 minutes ladies and gentlemen. 30 minutes until my wife’s birthday. This woman.

20140802-233328-84808848.jpg
She’s so pretty right? Spent the day in LA just doing some stuff we like to do. Coffee and driving and music and sushi and more driving. This one city has so many places that are so great and they’re made better when I get to see them with her. I think that’s what I like most about being married is just doing things. With her.

Anyone who knows her loves her and I think that says a lot about who she is. Kind and loving and genuine. She’s just so damn nice. I love that about her.

We’re rapidly approaching 10 years of being together and I can’t believe how quickly this last decade has passed and it makes me realize that time is moving exponentially faster and soon I’ll be so old and will be looking back at pictures of these outings and wondering where all this time has gone. Wondering how I got to be so old and wishing we could go back and wanting to go back to this time and that day and remember when? And that could be a scary thing but knowing that we’ll be looking back together and remembering each other in all these little memories just blows my mind. I’m not scared to get old and to be there looking back here mainly because I know that Hashem has seen fit to provide this amazing person to remember with. It might be cheesy or trite to say but I’m so lucky to have her. Already I can’t remember my life without her and I’m glad. I’m not me I’m us. And that alone makes life better. When we’re old and I’m gray and gross and she’s gray and still stunning and sexy I’ll still be thinking how lucky I am. Life’s crazy and rockets get fired into the middle of neighborhoods and people feel hunger and people die and things get lost and that won’t change. I just love her. And she loves me and she’s my wife. And her dark hair is so pretty and she always smells good. In the morning when her hair is crazy and her face is warm from sleeping she’s my wife. We’re partners and we’re a team, sure, but it’s more than that. She’s my wife and there’s no one else.

I’m glad you were born and I’m glad we said those words on that day that formed a union that knitted and joined and fitted and filled.

You’re beautiful and you’re you and you’re mine. You make coffee taste better and humid days with clouds and orange sunsets more real. I like your thumbs and your moles. And your freckles that keep making more freckles. And wherever we live and whatever jobs we have and however many kids we’re given you’ll always be my first and my deepest and my most real. So kiss me goodnight and let’s do it all over.

20140803-000243-163652.jpg

20140803-000242-162750.jpg

20140803-000316-196975.jpg

Leave a comment